2018-19 Annual Awards Dinner and Officer Installation

CWEA Awards Banquet 2018

What a beautiful night of fun, recognition, and camaraderie, as TCS colleagues recognized our finest with Annual Awards, and our new slate of officers were sworn it!

As event chair for the evening, one of my primary tasks was to insure great weather, and some say, I did a pretty good job!  We celebrated our finest this year at the beautiful Convivo Restaurant in the Santa Barbara Inn.  After days fo torrential rain, the heavens parted, and truly graced us with a beautiful balmy evening.  We opened the french doors to the pool patio, and enjoyed an idyllic evening together in a mot beautiful setting.  If you missed this Awards Banquet, you missed a great one!

Our outgoing board was thanked and applauded, and then Former Section and Statewide President, Carrie Mattingly (SLO-Retired), swore in our new board:

President Ben Marquart  SLO

Vice President Mark Bennett  Carp San

Secretary Mary Thompson SB

Treasurer Travis Fisher Ojai San

Member At Large Jared Pickens Paso Robles

Two tear Director Dennis Brewer Camarillo SD

Past President Nick Steffen LA

The outgoing Board included myself, John Pujol as Past President.

The highlight of the night was our Awards Presentation.  We did something a little different this year; we asked the nominators, or a Supervisor or Colleague of the winners, to make the presentations.  In the past, usually the host would read from a list of accomplishments, and then present the award to the winner(s).  In “making it personal”, the sentiments expressed were genuinely heartfelt, and we are hopeful the recipients were not only proud of their accomplishments, but felt the love, from their colleagues, in equal measure.  We heard some beautiful testimony, and smiles were abundant! Everyone I spoke with felt it was a wonderful evening together, truly a night to remember.


Collection System Person of the Year – Awarded to:

Tony Murillo – Paso Robles

Presenter: Jared Pickens

Electrical Instrumentation Person of the Year – Awarded to:

Ignacio Just – Santa Barbara

Presenter: Todd Heldoorn

Operator of the Year – Awarded to:

Thomas Welche – Santa Barbara

Presenter: Todd Heldoorn

Outstanding Administrators

Robert Johns – Santa Barbara

Presenter: Thomas Welche


Laurie Johnson – Ojai Valley Sanitation District

Presenter: Travis Fisher

Small Plant of the Year Awarded to:

Camrosa Water Reclamation Facility

Presenter: Eric Garcia

Medium Plant of the Year Awarded to:

Simi Valley Water Quality Control Plant

Presenter: Nick Steffen

Laboratory Person of the Year – Awarded to:

Mar Arcelona – Simi Valley

Presenter: Alan Kreiger

Small Collection System of the Year Awarded to:
Carpinteria Sanitary District

Presenter: Mark Bennett

and last, but certainly not least!…


Supervisor of the Year – Awarded to:

Joe Barajas – Ventura

Presenter: Gina Dorrington

For photos of the event, please click on the following link:

Awards dinner photos

Comments are closed.